If you’re a user of medical cannabis or live in a legal recreational state, you might be thinking about growing your own cannabis. As with cannabis consumption laws, cultivation laws vary hugely from state to state. If you’re looking into home cultivation, try Grow Light Info for information about grow lights.
Here’s a rundown. But then, if your state isn’t here, that means home cultivation isn’t allowed where you are. Sorry!
Alaska allows people over 21 to purchase or possess a maximum of one ounce of cannabis. Home growers can have no more than three mature plants, and six in total.
In Arizona, registered patients or caregivers can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana every two weeks (or any 14-day period). Marijuana can only be legally purchased from registered dispensaries. Up to 12 plants can be home-cultivated, but only if the patient lives more than 25 miles from their nearest dispensary.
Marijuana is entirely legal for medical and recreational use in California, so adults over the age of 21 can possess up to 28.5 grams of marijuana and eight of cannabis concentrate. Up to six plants can be grown at home. Medical marijuana patients can get permission from their doctor to grow more if needed.
Colorado allows residents to purchase up to one ounce of marijuana at a time, or ¼ ounce for non-residents. Home cultivation is limited to state residents only, with up to six plants (three mature) allowed.
DC patients over the age of 21 can possess a maximum of two ounces, and pass on a maximum of one ounce to another person provided that no money is exchanged. Home growers can have a maximum of six plants. Three of which can be mature.
People registered with Hawaii’s medical marijuana program can grow no more than ten total plants, or hold any more than four ounces of ‘usable’ marijuana at any one time. People who are looking to grow this at home should indicate that on their application.
Moving on to Maine, patients over the age of 21 can possess up to 2.5 ounces each of edibles, prepared marijuana, and cannabis concentrate. Patients can grow a maximum of six mature plants, or twelve immature ones, and can have unlimited seedlings if they wish. All home-grown plants have to be kept in a private, locked facility.
Massachusetts allows people to possess one ounce if in a public place, ten if in a private residence, and up to five grams of cannabis concentrate. Patients can apply for ‘hardship cultivation’ permission that may allow for more plants to be grown, but the general rule is that only six plants per person is allowed, and all plants must not be visible to the general public.
In Michigan, over-21s with a prescription can possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana and 15 grams of cannabis concentrate. Ten ounces can be stored, but must be locked away in a secure facility.
Montana allows cardholders to possess one ounce of usable marijuana, four mature plants, and twelve seedlings. Marijuana providers can hold this amount per person when they register what they provide marijuana for.
In Nevada, home-growing is restricted to people who live more than 25 miles from a dispensary. Users can keep one ounce of usable marijuana and 3.5 grams of concentrate. Those who are growing one must keep their plant secure and away from public sight.
New Mexico patients must apply for a license if they want to grow their own marijuana. These Personal Production Licenses allow for four mature plants to be grown at a time. Patients can possess up to eight ounces of usable marijuana at one time.
North Dakota requires home growers to live at least 40 miles from their nearest dispensary. Patients can hold up to 2.5 ounces at once, or 2 ounces between them and their registered caregiver (if they have one). Home-grown cannabis must be grown in a secure facility, at least 1000 feet from any public school building.
In Oklahoma, you must have a state-issued medical license to carry marijuana – up to three ounces at a time, plus one of cannabis concentrate, and up to 72 ounces of edibles. No more than six of a total of t*welve home-grown plants can be grown at any one time.
Oregon’s rules about who can have how much vary quite widely based on the form the marijuana takes. However, from a home cultivation perspective, it’s mostly in line with other states; four mature plants for recreational users and six for medical users.
Medical marijuana cardholders in Rhode Island are allowed a maximum of 12 plants, or 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana. Plants must be stored securely indoors.
Vermont allows for up to two ounces of marijuana, for either the patient or the patient’s registered caregiver. Up to seven immature plants, or two mature plants, are allowed.
The final US state that allows for home-growing of marijuana is Washington, which allows for flexibility based on doctor recommendation. If a healthcare provider doesn’t register a recommendation, then the patient can only purchase, at maximum, the retail limit. This limit is 48 ounces of solid edibles, 216 ounces of liquid edibles, three ounces of usable marijuana, and 21 of concentrate. These limits are lower for recreational users – recreational users are also not permitted to cultivate marijuana at home.